KRA3 2021-08-09T12:21:29+00:00

Based on outcomes from previous climate change actions and in collaboration with PACRES partners (SPREP and SPC), PACRES USP continues to strengthen the resilience of five P-ACP countries, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Timor-Leste and Vanuatu, against climate change impacts. PACRES USP identifies change agents and conducts participatory capacity needs assessments at the national, sub-national, and community levels across the five PACRES countries. It further supports relevant trainings for identified change agents at sub-national levels. Research & Community Officers (RCO) based in PACRES countries assist the respective Governments in mainstreaming climate change and disaster risk management into development plans and strategies. This complements support by SPREP and SPC to scale up adaptation pilots, including ecosystem-based solutions, in the five countries. The Scaling Up Adaptation Pilots component is complementary to the GCCA+ Scaling-up Pacific Adaptation (SUPA) programme that implements similar interventions in Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Republic of Marshall Islands, Tonga and Tuvalu.

PACRES USP Countries

Papua New Guinea